There is no coupon code that takes money off a Kindle book. Cheaper Kindle reading comes from six places Amazon documents itself: time-limited price drops (Kindle Daily Deals, Kindle Countdown Deals and free-book promotions), the paid Kindle+ subscription (the new name for Kindle Unlimited), the free monthly book Prime members get through Amazon First Reads, Prime’s curated reading selection, discounted Prime memberships, and free library e-books sent to a Kindle through Libby. This guide explains how each one works, what it costs according to Amazon’s own pages, and which one fits the way you read.
Offers at a glance
| Offer | Code needed? | Status | Expiration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kindle+ subscription (formerly Kindle Unlimited): $11.99 a month plus tax in the U.S., up to 20 titles at a time | No code needed | merchant_direct | Ongoing | Amazon News: Kindle Unlimited is now Kindle+ |
| Kindle+ free trial (eligibility shown on the Kindle+ page; length not stated) | No code needed | unverified | Not stated | Amazon News: Kindle Unlimited is now Kindle+ |
| Amazon First Reads: one free Kindle book a month for Prime members, a month before public release | No code needed | merchant_direct | Ongoing; new picks on the 1st of each month | Amazon News: How to read books for free with Prime |
| Prime reading selection (Prime Reading / curated Kindle+ selection for Prime members) | No code needed | merchant-listed · last seen active | Ongoing | Amazon News: Kindle+ guide |
| Kindle Daily Deals page (rotating discounted Kindle books) | No code needed | merchant-listed · last seen active | Individual deals vary | Amazon: Kindle Daily Deals |
| Kindle Countdown Deals: temporary price cuts on Kindle-exclusive titles, 1 hour to 7 days | No code needed | merchant_direct | Per title, shown by a countdown clock | KDP Help: Kindle Countdown Deals |
| Free Book Promotions: KDP Select e-books free for up to 5 days | No code needed | merchant_direct | Per title | KDP Help: Free Book Promotions |
| Prime Access: discounted Prime at $6.99 a month for qualifying government-assistance recipients | No code needed | merchant_direct | Ongoing | Amazon News: Discounted Prime memberships |
| Prime for Young Adults (students): $7.49 a month or $69 a year after a 6-month trial | No code needed | merchant_direct | Ongoing | Amazon News: Discounted Prime memberships |
| Library e-books on Kindle through Libby | No code needed (library card required) | merchant_direct | Ongoing; loans are time-limited | Amazon News: Lesser-known Kindle features |
| Prime Big Deal Days: three months of Kindle Unlimited free, plus two free First Reads books | No code needed | expired | Ended 10/7/26 | Amazon Press Center: Prime Big Deal Days |
| Amazon Book Sale (spring event): up to 80% off thousands of Kindle books | No code needed | expired | Last documented event ended 4/28/25 | Amazon News: Amazon Book Sale |
| Kindle MatchBook (discounted e-book with a print purchase) | — | expired | Retired | KDP Help: Digital Book Pricing Page |
Kindle Unlimited is now Kindle+: what you pay and what you get
Amazon has renamed Kindle Unlimited to Kindle+. Amazon’s own explainer now carries the new name and states the U.S. price as $11.99 a month plus tax. An older Amazon article still lists Kindle Unlimited at $9.99 a month, so if you remember the lower price, that is why; the current Amazon page is the one to trust.
According to Amazon, a Kindle+ membership includes:
- Millions of e-books, plus thousands of audiobooks (marked with a headphone icon), comics, manga and a selection of magazines.
- Companion audiobooks on thousands of e-books, so you can switch between reading and listening at no extra cost.
- Up to 20 titles at a time (e-books, audiobooks or comics), with no due dates while your membership is active.
- Reading on any Kindle device or the free Kindle app on iOS, Android, Mac, PC and the web. You do not need a Kindle device.
Kindle+ is not included with Prime, and Prime is not required to join. Borrowed titles are not yours to keep: when you cancel, access continues until the next billing date, fees already paid are not refunded, and then your Kindle+ titles disappear.
Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) help pages explain that a book must be enrolled in KDP Select to be in Kindle+. That is why the catalog leans toward independent and Amazon-published titles, and many big-publisher releases are missing. Check for the Kindle+ badge on the authors you actually read before paying.
The Kindle+ math
At $11.99 a month, Kindle+ costs $143.88 over a full year. Amazon’s KDP rules give a benchmark: self-published e-books earning the 70% royalty must be listed between $2.99 and $12.99 on Amazon.com. At $2.99 a book, Kindle+ breaks even at about four books a month (4 × $2.99 = $11.96); near the top of that band, one book covers it. If you read one or two big-publisher books a month that are not in the catalog, buying them on a price drop is usually cheaper.
The Kindle+ (Kindle Unlimited) free trial
Amazon’s explainer tells readers to check free-trial eligibility on the Kindle+ page but publishes no trial length, and that page was not readable by our tools, so we do not state one. Amazon has advertised longer intro offers during sale events: three months of Kindle Unlimited free during Prime Big Deal Days (ended 10/7/26) and three months for $0.99 during the Amazon Book Sale. Our Big Deal Days calendar tracks when those events usually land.
Whatever trial you get, cancel before the first charge if you do not want it, since fees already paid are not refunded.
Prime Reading and Amazon First Reads: what Prime members get
Amazon First Reads is the clearest Prime reading perk. Amazon says Prime members can pick one Kindle book each month from an editor-chosen list, with new picks arriving on the first of every month and each book available one month before its public release. Bonus short reads are added in some months, and the selections do not expire once they are in your Kindle library.
Prime Reading is where Amazon’s pages currently disagree. Older Amazon articles describe Prime Reading as a rotating selection of about 3,000 books, magazines and comics, with up to ten e-books checked out at once. Amazon’s newest Kindle+ explainer instead says Prime members “can explore Kindle+ with access to a curated selection of the catalog,” and a recent Amazon article about free reading with Prime covers First Reads and Amazon Original Stories without naming Prime Reading. Prime members still get included titles at no extra cost, but the size and checkout limit may have changed with the rebrand.
Prime also includes Amazon Original Stories, short reads designed for one sitting.
Paying less for Prime itself
Amazon lists standard Prime at $14.99 a month or $139 a year. Two discounted versions keep every Prime benefit, including First Reads:
- Prime Access is $6.99 a month after a 30-day free trial for people enrolled in a qualifying program, including SNAP (EBT), Medicaid, SSI, TANF, WIC, LIHEAP, the National School Lunch Program, Tribal assistance and Direct Express. Over a year that is $83.88, which is $55.12 less than the $139 annual plan and $96 less than paying $14.99 monthly.
- Prime for Young Adults (the student plan) is $7.49 a month or $69 a year after a six-month free trial for students at two- or four-year colleges. The $69 annual price is $70 less than standard annual Prime. Our student discounts master list covers the other student programs worth stacking with it, such as the Spotify Premium student discount.
Kindle Daily Deals, Countdown Deals and free days: how Kindle prices drop
Kindle books do not take promo codes; prices move in three documented ways:
- Kindle Daily Deals. Amazon runs a Kindle Daily Deals page in the Kindle Store, along with a related page it titles “Kindle Book Deals for $3.99 or Less.” The deals rotate, and the discounted price shows on the book’s page before you buy. Our tools could not read the contents of these pages, so we do not quote any current deal prices.
- Kindle Countdown Deals. Amazon’s KDP help pages describe these as temporary discounts on Kindle-exclusive books. The book’s page shows both the regular price and the sale price, plus a countdown clock. A deal runs from 1 hour to 7 days, must cut the U.S. price by at least $1.00, and sets a sale price between $2.99 and $24.99. Authors can step the price back up in up to five increments, so the earliest hours of a deal are often the cheapest.
- Free Book Promotions. Authors in KDP Select can make an e-book free for up to five days in each 90-day enrollment period. During the promotion the book appears on the Kindle Store’s free list. Amazon notes listings can take up to 24 hours to switch, so a “free” book you saw yesterday may already be back to full price.
Amazon also says it may lower a Kindle book’s price to match a lower price for the same book elsewhere. That happens automatically on Amazon’s side; there is no customer price-match request for Kindle books documented on the pages we could read.
Free library e-books on your Kindle
Amazon’s Kindle feature guide explains that many public libraries lend e-books to Kindle. With a library card and the Libby app, choose to read with Kindle, tap Open Book, and send the title to your Kindle from Amazon’s website. Loans return automatically, so there are no late fees. Households can also share Kindle content through Amazon Household, so one purchase can serve several readers at home.
How to save without a coupon
- Check Libby first. A library loan costs nothing.
- Claim First Reads monthly if you have Prime.
- Wishlist, then wait for a Daily Deal or Countdown Deal instead of paying full price on impulse.
- Time subscriptions around big events. Our Black Friday deals guide covers the next major window.
- Check whether you qualify for cheaper Prime. Prime Access and the student plan cut the cost of Prime, and with it First Reads.
- Understand Amazon’s discount types. Clip coupons and promo codes apply to physical products, not Kindle books. Our Amazon coupons guide explains which discounts apply where.
- Teachers buying print copies: compare Kindle prices with the Barnes & Noble educator discount for classroom books.
What we could not verify
- Kindle+ free trial length. Amazon’s explainer says to check eligibility on the Kindle+ page but gives no length, and the product page was not readable by our tools.
- Current Prime Reading details. Older Amazon pages say about 3,000 rotating titles and up to ten at a time; the newest Amazon page describes a curated Kindle+ selection for Prime members without a title count or borrow limit.
- Current Kindle Daily Deals prices or how often the page refreshes. The page exists in Amazon’s Kindle Store, but its contents could not be read.
- Kindle book return rules. Amazon’s help pages on returning Kindle books were not readable by our tools, so we do not state a return window.
- Whispersync for Voice pricing (discounted audio add-ons for Kindle books). Not documented on any Amazon page we could read.
- Kindle Rewards. A past Amazon Book Sale article mentioned double to triple Kindle Rewards points on select days; we could not confirm the program’s current terms.
- The next Amazon Book Sale. The last one we could document ended 4/28/25.
FAQ
Is Kindle Unlimited still available?
Yes, under a new name. Amazon has renamed Kindle Unlimited to Kindle+. Amazon’s explainer lists it at $11.99 a month plus tax in the U.S.
Is Kindle+ included with Amazon Prime?
No. Amazon says Kindle+ is a separate subscription. Prime members get Amazon First Reads and access to a curated selection of the Kindle+ catalog, not the full catalog.
How many books can I borrow with Kindle+?
Up to 20 e-books, audiobooks or comics at a time, with no due dates while your membership is active.
Do I keep Kindle+ books after I cancel?
No. Your membership runs until the next billing date, then you lose access to Kindle+ titles. Books you bought, and First Reads picks you claimed with Prime, stay in your library.
Is there a promo code for Kindle books?
Amazon does not document promo codes for Kindle e-books. Kindle savings show up as lower prices on the book page (Daily Deals, Countdown Deals, free promotions) or through subscriptions and Prime benefits.
Where this information comes from
Everything here comes from Amazon’s own publications: Amazon News articles on Kindle+, reading free with Prime, discounted Prime, Prime costs, Kindle features and the Amazon Book Sale; Amazon Press Center releases on Prime Big Deal Days and Kindle Countdown Deals; and Kindle Direct Publishing help pages on Kindle+, Countdown Deals, Free Book Promotions and e-book pricing. Amazon’s Kindle Daily Deals page is listed as a destination, but its contents were not readable at the time we checked. We did not use coupon sites or third-party roundups as evidence. We follow our verification process and editorial policy, and we label anything we could not confirm.
Affiliate disclosure: CheezyDeals has no affiliate relationship with Amazon and earns nothing from the links on this page. See our affiliate disclosure for how we handle partnerships.
Amazon, Kindle, Kindle+, Kindle Unlimited and Prime are trademarks of their owner. CheezyDeals is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Amazon.