Gap Promo Codes and Coupons: How FAMILY, Encore Rewards, GapCash and Gap Factory Actually Work

Short answer: yes, Gap does publish promo codes, but usually only one or two at a time, and they tend to be tied to the Gap credit card. At the time we checked, the only code on Gap’s own Coupons & Promo Codes page was FAMILY, an extra 10% off for Cardmembers. Everything else Gap was advertising (a Friends & Family sale, member free shipping, GapCash) needed no code at all. So when you search for promo codes Gap actually honors, the bigger savings usually come from the sale price already on the tag, the Encore rewards program, and GapCash, not from a secret string you paste at checkout.

Gap Factory (gapfactory.com) is a separate store with its own sales, its own email offer and its own return rules, even though it shares the Encore rewards program. We cover it in its own section below, because mixing the two up is the fastest way to end up with a coupon that will not work.

Offers at a glance

Offer Code needed? Status Expiration Source
Gap: extra 10% off for Cardmembers (excludes collaborations) Yes: FAMILY merchant-listed 10/21 (year not stated) Gap Coupons & Promo Codes page
Gap: Friends & Family 40% off everything, including new arrivals (excludes collaborations) No code listed merchant-listed None stated Gap Coupons & Promo Codes page
Gap: Friends & Family 50% off matching PJs (select styles) No code listed merchant-listed None stated Gap Coupons & Promo Codes page
New Encore credit card: discount on first purchase (20% on the banner; see conflict below) Code issued after approval merchant-listed 10/21 (year not stated) Gap Encore Membership page
Free shipping on $50+ for signed-in Encore members ($35+ for Cardmembers) No merchant_direct None stated Gap Shipping and Handling page
GapCash: earn $20 to $100 coupons on $50+ spends, redeem later No (coupon issued) merchant_direct Earn 9/22/26 to 12/1/26; redeem 12/2/26 to 12/7/26 GapCash terms page
Gap Factory: banner reading “60% Off Everything for Cardmembers + Bonus 20% Off” first new-card purchase (excludes licensed and special edition styles) No code listed merchant-listed 10/22 (year not stated) Gap Factory Coupons & Promo Codes page
Gap Factory: Friends & Family 50% off everything, including clearance No code listed merchant-listed None stated Gap Factory Coupons & Promo Codes page
Gap Factory: extra 20% off for email sign-up (gapfactory.com only) Yes (code not named on terms page) merchant-listed None stated (terms say valid 30 days) Gap Factory Email Sign Up Offer page
Gap Factory: military offer (image only, no terms shown) Unknown unverified None stated Gap Factory Coupons & Promo Codes page

The FAMILY code and Friends & Family: what Gap is actually offering

Gap’s promo page listed two layers at the time we checked. The first is a Friends & Family event: 40% off everything, new arrivals included, online and in stores, with collaborations excluded. A second Friends & Family line offered 50% off matching pajamas in select styles. Neither listed a code, and the page did not show an end date for either one.

The second layer is the code FAMILY, which gives Cardmembers an extra 10% off and ends 10/21 (the page does not print a year). “Cardmembers” here means people who hold a Gap Inc. or Encore credit card issued by Barclays. If you do not have the card, FAMILY is not for you, and Gap’s page does not describe a code for non-cardholders.

Gap does not say whether the extra 10% combines with the Friends & Family price, so we will not guess at the math. One catch from Gap’s return FAQ: items bought with a promo code can only be exchanged for the same style in another size or color. Gap’s promo page also mentions a “Promo Drawer” in the Gap app but does not list what is in it.

Encore rewards (the program formerly called Gap Good Rewards)

If you remember “Gap Good Rewards,” that program now runs as Encore. Gap’s current rewards page uses the Encore name, though some of its URLs still say gap-good-rewards. Encore covers the Gap Inc. family of brands: Gap, Gap Factory, Old Navy, Banana Republic, Banana Republic Factory and Athleta. If you also shop at Old Navy, our Old Navy coupons and Encore rewards guide covers the same points from that side.

Tiers

  • Core: free to join. 5 points per $1, a birthday bonus, free Basic shipping on $50+, free mail returns.
  • Premier: more than $350 in annual spend across the brands. Same 5 points per $1, free Standard shipping on $50+, returns up to 45 days (merchandise credit after day 30), one “Create Your Own Sale Day” a year at 15% off, and a birthday bonus for you and one family member.
  • All-Access: automatic for Encore credit card holders. Card earning rates (below), free Standard shipping on $35+ when paying with the card, returns up to 60 days (merchandise credit after day 30), a 20% Sale Day once a year, early access to select drops, and a birthday bonus for you and up to three family members.

What points are worth

Gap’s terms are refreshingly blunt: 500 points = $1 reward. At 5 points per $1, Core and Premier members earn the equivalent of 1% back. Gap’s FAQ says so directly.

Worked example: a $100 Gap order as a Core member earns 500 points, which is $1 in rewards. Pay with the Encore credit card instead and the same order earns 25 points per $1, or 2,500 points, which is $5. That is the 5% back Gap’s FAQ describes for card purchases at its brands.

No points are earned on amounts paid with points, gift cards or store credit, or on shipping and taxes. Points cannot buy gift cards or pay the card bill, and they expire only after 12 months with no earning or redeeming.

Gap credit card offers

The Gap Encore Credit Card and Gap Encore Mastercard are issued by Barclays and require credit approval. Earning rates on Gap’s rewards page:

  • 25 points per $1 (5x) at Gap, Banana Republic, Old Navy and Athleta, for all cardmembers.
  • 15 points per $1 (3x) at other eligible apparel retailers, Mastercard version only.
  • 5 points per $1 (1x) everywhere else Mastercard is accepted, Mastercard version only.

The FAQ adds 10 points per $1 outside the brands for World and World Elite Mastercard holders. The pages we read did not list APRs or fees; a store card only saves money if you pay in full.

The new-account discount is where Gap’s own page contradicts itself. A footnote says accounts opened 9/30/26 through 10/3/26 got 25% off the first purchase, with that code expiring 14 days after opening, and that later approvals receive a 20% code by email. The banner on the same page says “bonus 20% off” a first purchase, ending 10/21. Our read is that the 25% window has closed and 20% is the current figure, but Gap states both.

GapCash

GapCash is Gap’s earn-now, spend-later coupon. Its terms list an earning window of 9/22/26 to 12/1/26 and a redemption window of 12/2/26 to 12/7/26, valid at Gap, GapBody, GapKids, babyGap and Gap Factory stores, plus gap.com and gapfactory.com in the U.S. and Puerto Rico. It does not work at Old Navy, Banana Republic or Athleta.

You spend (after discounts) GapCash earned
$50 to $99.99 $20
$100 to $149.99 $40
$150 to $199.99 $60
$200 to $249.99 $80
$250 or more $100

The same tiers apply when you redeem. Worked example: you spend $120 during the earning window and receive a $40 GapCash coupon. To use all of it, your redemption purchase must also land between $100 and $149.99; spend only $60 and you get $20 off, and the rest is lost. Gift cards, shipping and taxes do not count, and GapCash cannot be combined with other coupons or promotions.

Gap Factory: a separate store with separate deals

Gap Factory shares Encore with Gap (tier status and points carry over), but its promotions differ, and Gap’s return FAQ says Gap items cannot be returned at Gap Factory. Its promo page showed a banner reading “60% Off Everything for Cardmembers + Bonus 20% Off Your first purchase with your new card” (ending 10/22, excluding licensed and special edition styles), Friends & Family at 50% off everything including clearance, free shipping on $50+ for Premier members, and a military offer shown only as an image.

The email sign-up offer is an extra 20% off on gapfactory.com, valid 30 days. It excludes Factory and Outlet stores, clearance, gift cards and non-Factory merchandise, and cannot be combined with other offers, so compare it to the running sale first.

Gap Factory’s shipping page uses older tier names and its own prices: $9 for non-members, $7 for members under $50, free Standard at $50+. Returns run 30 days, free in store or with a prepaid label on online orders.

Shipping and returns at Gap

On gap.com, signed-in members get free Basic shipping on $50+, and Premier and All-Access members get free Standard shipping. Cardmembers paying with the card get it at $35+, except $35 to $49.99 orders paid by digital wallet. Non-member prices are $7.50 Basic, $9.50 Standard, $18 Express and $25 Priority.

Worked example: a $45 cart as a Core member pays $7.50 for Basic shipping. Add a $5 item and it ships free, so you pay $5 for something instead of $7.50 for nothing. The threshold is measured after discounts, so a sale can drag you back under $50.

Returns run 30 days (45 for Premier, 60 for Cardmembers, with merchandise credit after day 30). Mail returns are free for Encore members and $6 for non-members. Gap’s FAQ extends the holiday window: purchases from 10/15 through 12/24 can be returned through 1/15 of the following year. Final sale items cannot be returned.

How to save at Gap without a coupon

  • Join Encore Core before you order. Free, with free shipping on $50+ and no $6 mail-return fee.
  • Time big buys to GapCash. Spending $100 rather than $95 moves you up a full $20 tier.
  • Shop Friends & Family events, which needed no code at the time we checked.
  • Use the Create Your Own Sale Day if you reach Premier.
  • Layer a cashback portal on top of Gap’s own discounts where allowed; our guide to stacking coupons, cashback and rewards explains the order of operations.

Comparing department stores? Our guides to Kohl’s coupons and Kohl’s Cash and JCPenney coupons work through similar earn-and-redeem programs.

What we could not verify

  • The new-card discount. Gap’s rewards page lists both 25% (a 9/30/26 to 10/3/26 window) and 20% (banner ending 10/21). We report both.
  • Year on FAMILY and Gap Factory’s cardmember offer. Pages say “ends 10/21” and “ends 10/22” without a year.
  • Friends & Family end dates. Neither Gap nor Gap Factory showed one.
  • Whether FAMILY stacks with Friends & Family pricing. Gap’s page does not say.
  • Gap Factory’s military offer. It appears only as an image without readable terms. We found no military discount on gap.com.
  • Student and teacher discounts. We found none published on Gap’s or Gap Factory’s pages. For alternatives, see our student discounts master list and teacher discounts master list.
  • Gap Factory shipping. Its older tier names and $9/$7 prices differ from the Encore page.
  • The Gap Factory email code is not named on its terms page, and card APRs and fees were not shown.

FAQ

Is there a Gap promo code right now?

At the time we checked, Gap’s promo page listed FAMILY, an extra 10% off for Gap Inc. and Encore Cardmembers, ending 10/21. Its Friends & Family sale needed no code.

What happened to Gap Good Rewards?

Gap’s rewards program now runs under the Encore name, with Core, Premier and All-Access tiers. Points earn at 5 per $1 for members and 25 per $1 with the Encore card, and 500 points equal $1.

Do Gap coupons work at Gap Factory?

Not as a rule; the two sites post different promotions. GapCash and Encore points are the exceptions and work at both.

What is Gap’s free shipping minimum?

$50 for signed-in Encore members, or $35 for Cardmembers paying with the card.

Does Gap have a student, teacher or military discount?

We found none on gap.com. Gap Factory shows a military offer image without readable terms.

Where these offers come from

Everything above comes from Gap Inc.’s own pages: Gap’s Coupons & Promo Codes page and home page banner, the Gap Encore Membership Rewards Program page, the Encore Membership Program FAQ, Gap’s Shipping and Handling Information page and Return Policy FAQ, the GapCash terms page, and Gap Factory’s Coupons & Promo Codes page, Encore Membership Program page, Email Sign Up Offer page, Everyday Free Shipping page and Returning or Exchanging Items page. We did not use other coupon sites as evidence, and no checkout tests were done.

CheezyDeals has no affiliate relationship with Gap and earns nothing if you use these offers. See our affiliate disclosure, read how we verify offers, and review our editorial policy.

Gap is a trademark of its owner. CheezyDeals is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Gap.

More recently checked coupon & deal pages