Alaska Airline Rewards Program: How Atmos Rewards Points, Status, Saver Fares and Companion Fare Work

Merchant: Alaska Airlines · What this page covers: Atmos Rewards points and status, earning by fare class, Saver fares, awards and Members Day, discount codes and the $99 Companion Fare, military fares and bags, Status Match · Sources: Alaska Airlines’ own pages, listed under Offer provenance.

The Alaska airline rewards program is no longer called Mileage Plan. Alaska and Hawaiian Airlines merged Mileage Plan and HawaiianMiles into Atmos Rewards, and every old mile became one point at the same value; Mileage Plan members kept their account numbers. Alaska says points do not expire. You earn on Alaska, Hawaiian and partner flights, and Alaska says awards start at 4,500 points one-way. Status runs from Atmos Silver at 20,000 status points to Atmos Titanium at 135,000. The catch: Saver fares booked for most current travel now earn no points at all.

We found no public Alaska Airlines coupon code. Alaska issues discount codes through its own emails, promotions and your account wallet, one per reservation. A site listing “Alaska promo codes” with no link to alaskaair.com deserves suspicion; see our guide on spotting fake coupon sites.

Alaska Airlines deals at a glance

Offer Code needed? Status Expiration Source
Atmos Rewards: free; 100%–200% of miles flown as points by fare class; points do not expire No merchant_direct Earning chart valid for travel through December 31, 2026 alaskaair.com earn points page
Awards from 4,500 points one-way (Hawaii Neighbor Island) No merchant-listed · last seen active Not stated Alaska newsroom
Atmos Members Day: member offers emailed the first Wednesday of each month No merchant_direct Ongoing; each offer has its own window Alaska newsroom
October Members Day: awards up to 50% off, from 20,000 points one-way No expired Book by October 10, 2026 Alaska newsroom
$99 Companion Fare for eligible Atmos Rewards Visa cardholders (from $122 with taxes and fees) Yes, companion code in your account wallet merchant_direct One year after the code is issued alaskaair.com discount codes page; newsroom
Alaska-issued discount codes (fixed dollar amount off) Yes unverified Each code’s offer period; no public code found alaskaair.com discount codes page
Military fares for active duty and dependents, some markets No; phone booking only merchant_direct Not stated alaskaair.com military fares page
First 5 checked bags free for active duty military and dependents with travel orders No merchant_direct Not stated alaskaair.com military benefits page
Military extras: 15% off inflight food; $30 Alaska Lounge day pass No; show military ID merchant_direct Not stated alaskaair.com military benefits page
WeSalute (VetRewards) member discount, amount not stated Sign in through VetRewards merchant-listed · last seen active Not stated alaskaair.com military benefits page
Club 49 weekly fare sale for Alaska residents No merchant-listed · last seen active Fares change weekly alaskaair.com Club 49 deals page
Status Match: one-time match of flown status from another airline No merchant_direct Ongoing; may change without notice alaskaair.com Status Match page

How you earn Atmos Rewards points on flights

Alaska’s earn page publishes a fare-class chart for travel through December 31, 2026. Points and status points are a percentage of miles flown:

  • First Class: J fares 200%, C fares 175%, D or I fares 150%.
  • Full-fare economy: Y or B 150%; H or K 125%.
  • Discounted economy: M, L, V, S, N, Q, O or G 100%.
  • Saver (X class): booked on or after June 11, 2026 and flown on or after August 1, 2026, no points and no status points. Distance still counts toward Million Miler.

For flights departing on or after January 1, 2027, members choose how to earn: by distance (1 point per mile), price paid (5 points per $1 on flights) or segments (500 points each). Existing members who do nothing stay on distance; new members default to price paid. You can switch once per calendar year.

Example (our math): on a placeholder 1,000-mile flight, an M-class fare earns 1,000 points and 1,000 status points, a Y fare 1,500, and a Saver fare zero. Under the new options, a $250 ticket on that route earns 1,000 points by distance, 1,250 by price paid or 500 by segment. Long, cheap trips favor distance.

Partner flights booked on alaskaair.com also earn. Alaska’s partner page lists oneworld airlines such as American, British Airways, Japan Airlines and Qantas, plus partners like Icelandair and Korean Air, and says business class on global partners earns 250% of distance.

Saver fares: what the cheapest ticket costs you

Saver is Alaska’s lowest fare. Per its Saver page, you keep Main’s carry-on and checked bag allowance and inflight amenities, but:

  • Seats are assigned at check-in, and groups may not sit together.
  • You board last, in group F, unless status or a bought Premium or First seat moves you up.
  • No standby, and no Money and Points awards.
  • Canceling at least 14 days out returns a 50% credit; otherwise, outside the 24-hour policy and paid same-day changes, no changes or refunds.
  • A missed flight cancels the rest of the trip with no refund.

Status members on Saver keep free bags and status boarding, and are eligible for complimentary upgrades only within 2 hours of departure.

Example (our math): cancel a placeholder $200 Saver ticket 14 or more days out and you get a $100 credit, losing $100. If Main costs $40 more on the same flight, that $40 buys change flexibility, an assigned seat and 1,000 points on a 1,000-mile trip.

Alaska’s domestic deals and Club 49 pages show recent low fares by route, but warn the prices were seen in the past 24 to 48 hours, may be gone, and may be Saver fares.

Redeeming points: awards and Members Day

Alaska says awards start at 4,500 points one-way across more than 1,000 destinations on Alaska, Hawaiian and 30-plus partners. That figure is for Hawaii Neighbor Island awards, which Alaska says are 25% below the previous Main Cabin price. Points also cover hotels, vacation rentals and Atmos Rewards Unlocked experiences.

Atmos Members Day is Alaska’s recurring member sale, held the first Wednesday of each month by email. Turn on “Monthly points statement and news” under Communications in your profile to receive it. October’s edition offered awards at up to 50% off to six cities, from 20,000 points one-way to Seoul and 25,000 to Paris, but booking closed October 10, 2026.

Example (our math): if 20,000 points was truly up to 50% off, the regular price was as much as 40,000 points, so the sale saved up to 20,000 points on one ticket. Alaska did not state the regular price, so the real saving may have been smaller.

Sharing points costs money: Alaska lists $10 per 1,000 points to transfer to another member, so topping off a relative’s award with 5,000 points costs $50. Some cardholders transfer free.

Atmos status tiers

  • Atmos Silver (oneworld Ruby): 20,000 status points. Bonus points on all flights, one free checked bag, preferred seating and complimentary upgrades.
  • Atmos Gold (oneworld Sapphire): 40,000.
  • Atmos Platinum (oneworld Emerald): 80,000.
  • Atmos Titanium (oneworld Emerald): 135,000, adding day-of-departure upgrades into global Business Class for the member and one companion.

Status points count through December 31, and benefits last through January 31 of the following year. A 10,000-point milestone unlocks a perk such as free pre-order food, bonus points or Silver for one trip. Alaska’s oneworld page says Gold and above get Business Class lounge access on oneworld flights to destinations outside the U.S., Canada and Mexico.

Example (our math): Silver takes 20,000 miles in discounted economy at 100%, or about 13,334 miles in Y or B fares at 150%. Saver flights add nothing.

Alaska’s one-time Status Match accepts flown status from programs including Delta, United and Southwest. You keep it by earning 5,000 (Silver), 10,000 (Gold) or 20,000 (Platinum) base points on Alaska or Hawaiian flights within 90 days; Saver, award travel and bonus points do not count. Compare other carriers in our Delta SkyMiles guide and Southwest guide.

Discount codes and the $99 Companion Fare

Per Alaska’s About discount codes page, a code takes a set dollar amount off eligible new tickets during its offer period. Enter it in the Discount box with your cities and dates, or choose “Use to book” next to a code in your Atmos Rewards wallet. The rules:

  • One discount code per reservation.
  • Only on flights operated by Alaska, Horizon or SkyWest as Alaska, on e-tickets of up to eight segments.
  • Not on award reservations or ticket exchanges.
  • Changing or canceling the ticket forfeits the discount.

The Companion Fare is a code Alaska issues once a year to holders of its Atmos Rewards Visa Business, Ascent Visa Signature and Summit Visa Infinite cards, sometimes with a spend requirement. The companion pays a $99 base fare plus taxes and fees from $23, so from $122, on Alaska flights and Hawaiian flights within North America, not codeshares. It must be used within a year, cannot be transferred or combined with Wallet funds, and returns with its original expiration if you cancel.

Example (our math): two placeholder $300 tickets cost $600. With the code, the primary pays $300 and the companion from $122, for $422, or $178 saved. On a $150 route the saving is about $28.

Military fares, bags and other benefits

Alaska’s Military fares page offers fares in some markets to U.S. active duty members on excused absence, those within 7 days of discharge, reserves on active duty, spouses and dependents. They are sold only by phone; dependents 10 and older need a dependent ID. Retirees and personnel traveling to or from temporary duty stations do not qualify, and normal change fees apply.

  • Bags: active duty U.S. military and dependents with travel orders check their first 5 bags free.
  • Food: 15% off inflight food with a military ID.
  • Lounges: free Alaska Lounge day passes on government travel booked through SATO, or $30 for other active duty members on a paid or award ticket, space permitting.

Compare with our American Airlines military benefits breakdown and the military discounts master list.

How to save at Alaska Airlines without a coupon

  • Join Atmos Rewards before you fly; it is free.
  • Price Main against Saver. Main earns points and allows changes; Saver earns nothing on most current bookings.
  • Opt into the Members Day email for monthly award sales.
  • Pick your earning option for flights from January 1, 2027 to match how you fly.
  • Use Status Match if you hold flown status elsewhere, with the 90-day flights planned first.
  • Join Club 49 if you live in Alaska.

For low-cost comparisons, see our Frontier Discount Den guide; traveling north by ship instead, see our Alaska cruise deals guide.

What we could not verify

  • The award chart: the page did not load, so we have no prices beyond the 4,500-point figure and the expired October sale.
  • Bonus percentages and free bag counts for Gold, Platinum and Titanium.
  • Current checked bag fees. An older Alaska newsroom article listed $30 for the first bag and $45 for the second; the fees page did not load.
  • Whether the Companion Fare is economy-only; only an older Alaska article says so.
  • Military fare prices and the WeSalute discount amount.
  • Club 49 benefits beyond the weekly sale.
  • Saver earning for bookings made after June 11, 2026 but flown before August 1, 2026.

FAQ

What is the Alaska Airlines rewards program called now?

Atmos Rewards. It replaced Mileage Plan and HawaiianMiles, one mile to one point.

Do Atmos Rewards points expire?

Alaska says they do not.

Do Saver fares earn points?

Not if booked on or after June 11, 2026 and flown on or after August 1, 2026.

Is there a public Alaska Airlines promo code?

We found none. Alaska issues codes through its own channels, one per reservation, not usable on awards.

How many status points do I need for Atmos Silver?

20,000. Gold needs 40,000, Platinum 80,000 and Titanium 135,000.

Offer provenance

No checkout test was performed. No code on this page was invented, and nothing was sourced from coupon sites. Read how we verify deals and our editorial policy. If something here has changed, please tell us through our contact page.

Related: Delta flight deals and SkyMiles · Southwest Airlines coupon codes · Frontier Airlines coupons · American Airlines military benefits · Military discounts master list · How to stack coupons, cashback and rewards

Affiliate disclosure: CheezyDeals has no affiliate relationship with Alaska Airlines and earns nothing if you buy there. See our affiliate disclosure.

Alaska Airlines and its program names, including Atmos Rewards, are trademarks of their owner. CheezyDeals is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Alaska Airlines, and uses the name only to identify the business these offers apply to.

More recently checked coupon & deal pages