Merchant: Aerie (an American Eagle Outfitters brand, sold on ae.com) · Sources: American Eagle Outfitters’ own pages, listed under Where these offers come from.
Is there an Aerie coupon code that works for everyone? We did not find one. Aerie is sold through ae.com alongside American Eagle, and the pages we read showed no public promo code. What AE does publish is a set of programs that hand you codes or rewards once you join: 10% off for new email subscribers, Real Rewards points that turn into $5 rewards, a $5 birthday offer for members, 30% off a first purchase with the Real Rewards credit card, and a refer-a-friend offer advertised as 25% off. On top of that, ae.com runs code-free markdowns such as its clearance section and category sales.
The codes worth having come from AE itself, after you sign up. An “Aerie code” with no link back to ae.com deserves suspicion. Our guide on spotting fake coupon sites explains why.
Aerie savings at a glance
| Offer | Code needed? | Status | Expiration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10% off for new email subscribers | Sent after sign-up; delivery method not shown | merchant_direct | None published | ae.com email sign-up page |
| Real Rewards points: 10 to 20 points per $1 by level; 1,250 points = $5 reward | No code to join; rewards are issued to your account | merchant_direct | Rewards expire 60 days after issue | Real Rewards Terms & Conditions (PDF linked from ae.com) |
| $5 birthday offer for Real Rewards members, one purchase in your birthday month | Sent by email or text; also shown in your account | merchant_direct | Valid during your birthday month | Real Rewards Terms & Conditions |
| 30% off first AE or Aerie purchase after opening and using a Real Rewards credit card | Yes, online code provided on credit approval | merchant_direct | Not stated | ae.com Real Rewards Credit Card page |
| Credit cardmember earning: 40 points per $1 (16% back in rewards) when paying with the card | No | merchant_direct | Standing program | ae.com Real Rewards Credit Card page; Real Rewards Terms |
| Annual cardmember offer (listed as a 20% off coupon once per year on the card page; the terms describe a “Pick Your Own Sale Day”) | Sent by email | merchant_direct (terms details unverified) | Not stated | ae.com Real Rewards Credit Card page; Real Rewards Terms |
| Refer a Friend & Get 25% Off | Unknown | unverified (offer link exists; terms did not load) | Not stated | ae.com Aerie Refer a Friend page |
| Clearance banner: “60% off clearance”; clearance jeans from $24.99 | No code shown | merchant-listed · last seen active | Not stated | ae.com Clearance page |
| Aerie category sale: 50% off bras & bralettes (menu link) | No code shown | merchant-listed · last seen active | Not stated | ae.com Aerie navigation |
| Free standard shipping: $75+ (everyone), $50+ (Level 2), $25+ (Level 3), no minimum (cardmembers) | No | merchant_direct | Standing policy | ae.com Delivery, Shipping & Handling page |
| Student or military discount | — | unverified (no AE page found) | — | None found on ae.com |
Real Rewards: how Aerie points actually turn into money
Real Rewards by American Eagle & Aerie is the free loyalty program that covers both brands. According to the program terms, you earn points on what you actually pay for merchandise, after discounts and before taxes, fees and shipping, rounded to the nearest dollar. The rate depends on your level:
- Level 1 (free to join): 10 points per $1.
- Level 2 ($200 or more in qualifying spend in a year): 15 points per $1.
- Level 3 ($500 or more): 20 points per $1.
- Real Rewards credit cardmembers: 40 points per $1 when paying with the card, or 20 points per $1 if they pay another way.
Every 1,250 points becomes a $5 reward, issued in $5 steps up to $60. Each reward expires 60 days after it is issued, so a reward you forget about is money lost.
Here is the math with the published numbers:
- Level 1: 1,250 points at 10 per $1 means $125 of spending earns one $5 reward, which is 4% back.
- Level 2: $5 per about $84 spent, or 6%.
- Level 3: $5 per $62.50 spent, or 8%.
- Cardmember using the card: $5 per $31.25 spent, or 16%.
Worked example: a Level 1 member’s $100 Aerie order earns 1,000 points, not yet a reward; a later $25 purchase crosses 1,250 and triggers $5. Points themselves do not expire while your account is active, which the terms define as at least one qualifying purchase in any rolling 375-day period. Miss that, and all points expire.
Some rules that trip people up:
- Points are deducted when you return items. If you return something after a reward was issued, your balance can go negative.
- Rewards can be used on regular, marked-down or clearance merchandise unless a specific promotion says otherwise, but not on gift cards, charitable items or third-party products.
- If your purchase is smaller than the reward, the leftover value is forfeited. Use a $5 reward on at least $5 of merchandise.
The Aerie birthday reward
The Real Rewards terms give every member, at every level, one $5 offer per year for a single purchase during their birthday month. It typically arrives around the first of that month by email or text and also appears in your online account and the app. It is one-time use, so add your birthday to your profile ahead of time.
The Real Rewards credit card: the 30% first-purchase code and 16% back
AE’s credit page lists two cards: the Real Rewards Credit Card and the Real Rewards Visa Signature Credit Card. The application and account links point to Synchrony, which appears to be the issuer. The published perks:
- 30% off your first AE or Aerie purchase after opening and using the card. The online code is provided when you are approved. It cannot be combined with other coupons, and it excludes third-party merchandise, previously purchased items and gift cards. The card must be the only form of payment.
- 40 points per $1 on AE and Aerie purchases with the card, which AE describes as 16% back in rewards.
- Free standard shipping and returns with no minimum on ae.com, the app and phone orders. The terms note that mobile-wallet purchases may not qualify.
- No annual fee, per the card page.
Worked example with published numbers: a new cardmember buys $100 of Aerie merchandise. The 30% code takes $30 off, so the merchandise costs $70. Points are figured after discounts, so the card earns 40 × 70 = 2,800 points, enough for two $5 rewards (2,500 points) with 300 points left over. That is $30 off now plus $10 in rewards later.
The catch is the interest rate. AE’s card page lists a variable purchase APR of 33.24% for new accounts and a 39.99% penalty APR. At 33.24% a year, interest runs about 2.8% a month, so carrying a balance for roughly six months would cancel out the 16% back. The card only makes sense if you pay it off in full every month.
Email sign-up, refer-a-friend and other codes
AE’s email sign-up page offers 10% off to new email subscribers only. That makes it a one-time code for a first purchase, not a repeat discount. On a $60 Aerie order that is $6 off.
Aerie also has a refer-a-friend page, advertised across ae.com as “Refer a Friend & Get 25% Off.” Its terms did not load for us, so we cannot say who gets the 25% or what exclusions apply. Treat it as unverified.
How codes and rewards apply on ae.com
Aerie and American Eagle share one checkout on ae.com, so Aerie and AE items can go in the same bag, and Real Rewards points and rewards work across both brands. AE’s Promotion and Discount Information page names its promotion types (prices-as-marked, buy one get one, tiered pricing, clearance, shipping and card discounts), but the rules under them did not load for us.
What the published terms do say:
- The 30% card code cannot be combined with other coupons.
- Each reward certificate can carry its own exclusions, listed on the reward.
- AE may ask you to sign in to redeem rewards online, for security and fraud reasons.
Sign in before checking out and try one code at a time while watching the bag total. Our guide to stacking coupons, cashback and rewards explains the general order that usually works.
How to save at Aerie without a coupon
- Shop clearance and category sales. The ae.com clearance page showed a “60% off clearance” banner and clearance jeans from $24.99, and Aerie’s menu linked to 50% off bras & bralettes. No code was shown for either. These change often and no end dates were posted.
- Clear the free-shipping threshold. Standard shipping is $7.95 below the threshold. Free standard shipping starts at $75 for non-members and Level 1, $50 for Level 2, $25 for Level 3, and has no minimum for cardmembers. The shipping page also lists bras, swim and some other items at $7.95 standard shipping; we could not tell whether that overrides free-shipping thresholds. Buying online and returning in store avoids the $5 mail return fee.
- Use the price-adjustment policy. AE will adjust the price of a full-price item once within 14 days of purchase if it drops, at stores, online or in the app. Items bought on sale or with a coupon or promotion do not qualify, but purchases where you only used a Real Rewards reward still can. Ask in store or through Customer Service.
- Return in store. In-store returns are free; mailed returns cost $5 unless you are Level 3, a cardmember, or returning Aerie bras, bralettes, swimsuits or third-party footwear. Items marked Final Sale cannot be returned.
What we could not verify
- Any Aerie or American Eagle student discount. We found no AE page describing one. Our student discounts master list covers programs we could confirm.
- Any military discount at Aerie or American Eagle. We found no AE page describing one. See our military discounts master list for confirmed programs.
- The refer-a-friend terms: who gets the 25%, minimum purchase, exclusions and expiration.
- The annual cardmember offer. The card page lists a 20% off coupon once per year; the Real Rewards terms describe a “Pick Your Own Sale Day” offer sent by email. They may be the same benefit, but neither page gives full details, so we report both.
- How many promo codes ae.com accepts per order, and which promotions combine. The rules under AE’s promotion headings did not load.
- End dates and exclusions for the clearance banner and the 50% off bras & bralettes sale.
- Whether the 10% email code applies to sale or clearance items, and how it is delivered.
- Whether a holiday return extension applies this season. The return policy page we read described an extension for a past season.
Frequently asked questions
Is there an Aerie coupon code right now?
We found no public code on ae.com. The codes AE publishes go to people who sign up: 10% off for new email subscribers, 30% off a first purchase for new Real Rewards cardmembers, and the $5 birthday offer for Real Rewards members.
Does Aerie have a rewards program?
Yes. Real Rewards by American Eagle & Aerie is free to join and earns 10 points per $1 at Level 1, rising to 15 and 20 points at Levels 2 and 3. Every 1,250 points is a $5 reward that expires 60 days after it is issued.
What is the Aerie birthday reward?
All Real Rewards members get one $5 offer per year, good on a single purchase during their birthday month. It usually arrives around the start of the month by email or text.
Does Aerie have a student or military discount?
We could not find one on ae.com. Treat any claim of one as unverified unless AE’s own pages describe it.
Where these offers come from
Every offer and policy on this page comes from American Eagle Outfitters’ own pages:
- Real Rewards by American Eagle & Aerie Terms and Conditions (PDF linked from ae.com)
- ae.com Real Rewards Credit Card page
- ae.com email sign-up page
- ae.com Aerie Refer a Friend page (offer headline only; terms did not load)
- ae.com Clearance page and Aerie navigation
- ae.com Promotion and Discount Information page (headings only; rules did not load)
- ae.com Delivery, Shipping & Handling page
- ae.com Return, Refund and Exchange Policy
- ae.com AEO Price Adjustment Policy
No checkout test was performed. No code on this page was invented, and nothing here was sourced from coupon sites. Read how we verify deals and our editorial policy.
Related: Old Navy coupon codes and Encore rewards · Alo Yoga coupon codes · How to stack coupons, cashback and rewards · Student discounts master list · Abercrombie member offers and myAbercrombie rewards
Affiliate disclosure: CheezyDeals has no affiliate relationship with Aerie or American Eagle Outfitters and earns nothing from these links or if you shop there. See our affiliate disclosure.
Aerie is a trademark of its owner. CheezyDeals is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Aerie. American Eagle, Real Rewards and related program names are trademarks of their owner and are used only to identify the business these offers apply to.