,

Free Deals for Birthdays: Which Restaurants and Stores Publish a Birthday Reward and How to Claim It

Covers: birthday rewards at restaurant, coffee and retail chains, what each one requires (sign-up lead time, app, purchase), how long you get to redeem, and which programs no longer publish one · Sources: each company’s own pages, listed under Offer provenance.

Which companies really give free deals for birthdays, and what do you have to do to get them? When we checked, these brands spelled out a birthday reward on their own rewards, terms or help pages: Starbucks, Panera, Chipotle, Chili’s, Olive Garden, Jersey Mike’s, Papa Johns, Dunkin’, Sephora, Ulta Beauty, Bath & Body Works, Boot Barn, Aerie, Old Navy, Journeys and Kohl’s. Nearly all require a free membership with your birthday saved before it arrives, and several add a purchase requirement or a short redemption window. Red Robin’s adult Birthday Burger has been retired. Denny’s, Krispy Kreme, Sonic, Arby’s, Buffalo Wild Wings, Victoria’s Secret and Subway either named a perk without terms or showed none on the pages we could load, so we list them as unconfirmed rather than guess.

Birthday rewards at a glance

Offer Code needed? Status Expiration Source
Starbucks: free handcrafted drink, food item or bottled drink No (app barcode or registered card) merchant_direct Green: birthday only; Gold 7 days; Reserve 30 days Rewards Terms of Use
Panera: bakery treat; MyPanera+ gets You Pick Two (max $18) No merchant_direct 7 days after it loads MyPanera Program Terms
Chipotle: chips, guac, queso or a drink No merchant_direct Birthday month Rewards page FAQ
Chili’s: free dessert No ($5 spend required) merchant_direct Per the reward My Chili’s Rewards Terms
Olive Garden: dessert when dining in No merchant_direct Your birthday Olive Garden FAQs
Jersey Mike’s: 72 Shore Points No merchant_direct None published Shore Points Terms
Papa Johns: free dessert No (online orders only) merchant_direct 14 days from birthday Birthday Rewards FAQ
Dunkin’: 3X points for one day No (activate offer) merchant_direct Day before, of or after Dunkin’ FAQ
Red Robin: adult Birthday Burger No expired Final birthday months beginning on or before 7/1/2026 Royalty terms
Red Robin: Kids’ Birthday Offer, $7 off No ($4.99 minimum, dine-in) merchant_direct Child’s birthday month Royalty terms
Sephora: birthday gift set No ($25 minimum online only) merchant_direct Birthday month Beauty Insider Terms
Ulta Beauty: gift, 2X points; $10 off for Diamond/Platinum In store only (app or email code) merchant_direct Birthday month Birthday Rewards page
Bath & Body Works: free item, original price $9.95 or less Yes online; barcode in store merchant_direct 30 days from issue Help Center
Boot Barn: $15 / $20 / $25 off by tier No (issued coupon) merchant_direct Birthday month purchase B.Rewarded Rules
Aerie / AE: $5 off one purchase Coupon by email or text merchant_direct Birthday month Real Rewards Terms
Old Navy: birthday gift; family gifts at higher tiers No merchant_direct Not stated Loyalty program FAQ
Journeys: 10% / 15% / 20% off by tier No public code merchant_direct Not stated All Access page
Kohl’s: “special birthday gift” No merchant_direct Birthday month Kohl’s Rewards page
Denny’s, Krispy Kreme, Sonic, Arby’s, Buffalo Wild Wings, Victoria’s Secret, Subway (US), Michaels — unverified None published See below

Every reward above is personal: it lands in your account, app wallet or inbox. None is a public code, so a “birthday promo code” on a coupon site is not how these programs work.

Three rules that decide whether you get anything

  1. Save your birthday before the deadline. Starbucks says to join “at least seven (7) days prior to your birthday.” Old Navy wants it saved seven business days before your birthday month begins. Ulta wants it on your profile, with marketing opt-in, before your birthday month.
  2. Some programs want a recent purchase. Starbucks requires one Star-earning transaction before your birthday each year; Jersey Mike’s, a sub, wrap or sub bowl order in the prior 12 months; Papa Johns, a purchase in the last year; Kohl’s, any purchase before your birthday month.
  3. Windows are short. Starbucks Green members get the day itself, Dunkin’ a three-day choice, Panera 7 days, Papa Johns 14 and Bath & Body Works 30. Most retailers use the birthday month.

Restaurant and coffee birthday rewards

Starbucks

The Rewards terms give members one free handcrafted beverage, food item or bottled beverage. It loads on your birthday; redeem by scanning the app barcode or showing a registered Starbucks Card. Green members must use it that day, Gold members within seven days and Reserve members within 30. Multi-serve items, alcohol, merchandise and packaged coffee are excluded.

Panera

The MyPanera terms use your tier on the day before your birthday. Base members get one individual bakery treat, capped at a price stated in the reward. MyPanera+ and Sip Club members get a You Pick Two worth up to $18. Neither requires a purchase; both last seven days, must be selected manually, and exclude catering and third-party delivery. Our MyPanera and Sip Club guide explains how to reach MyPanera+.

Chipotle

Chipotle’s Rewards FAQ says members choose one birthday reward during their birthday month: chips, guac, queso or a drink. The Rewards terms don’t describe it, so lead time and app rules are unconfirmed. See our Chipotle Rewards explainer.

Chili’s and Olive Garden

My Chili’s Rewards lists “a free dessert on your birthday,” but benefits require at least $5 of food or beverage and can’t be redeemed in the transaction that issued them. Olive Garden’s FAQ says guests can receive a complimentary dessert when they dine in on their birthday, and that it does not offer a rewards program; eClub members get “other great offers.” More in our Olive Garden eClub guide.

Jersey Mike’s, Papa Johns and Dunkin’

  • Jersey Mike’s awards 72 Shore Points on your birthday if you’re opted in to email, have a birthday on file, and bought a qualifying sub item in the prior 12 months (point redemptions don’t count). See our Shore Points explainer.
  • Papa Johns gives Papa Rewards members a free dessert, good for 14 days from the birthday, online orders only, and you pay any delivery fee.
  • Dunkin’ gives triple points on purchases for one day you choose: the day before, of or after your birthday. It multiplies spending rather than giving a free item.

Red Robin

The Royalty terms fold the adult Birthday Burger into general “Surprise & Delight” offers starting 6/1/2026. Members whose birthday month began on or before 7/1/2026 could redeem one final burger, and it “will not be renewed.” What remains is a Kids’ Birthday Offer: $7 off with a $4.99 minimum, once in the birthday month of a child 17 or under whose birthday is in your account, dine-in only with the child present.

Retail birthday rewards

Sephora and Ulta Beauty

Sephora’s Beauty Insider Terms allow one birthday gift per year in your birthday month. Sephora.com requires a $25 merchandise purchase after discounts; Sephora and Sephora at Kohl’s stores require no purchase, and Kohls.com has no minimum. Gifts vary by tier and supply.

Ulta’s Birthday Rewards page offers a gift in your birthday month. Online it adds to your bag free, but the cart needs a paid non-Marketplace item and shipping applies; in store you need a code from the app or birthday email. Members also get 2X points on select purchases that month, and Diamond and Platinum members an extra $10 off. See our Ulta Beauty Rewards guide.

Bath & Body Works

The Help Center describes one free item with an original ticket price of $9.95 or less; a $17.95 item on sale for $5.95 doesn’t qualify. It lasts 30 days, sits in the app Wallet or your account, and combines with other Rewards, up to eight per order. Online orders pay shipping. More in our Bath & Body Works rewards guide.

Boot Barn, Journeys and Aerie

The B.Rewarded Rules issue a $15, $20 or $25 coupon by tier for a purchase in your birthday month, to members who saved their birth month. Journeys’ All Access page lists a 10%, 15% or 20% birthday reward by tier. AE’s Real Rewards terms give $5 off a single purchase once a year, sent by email or text around the first of the birth month and usable that month. Details: Boot Barn, Journeys, Aerie.

Old Navy and Kohl’s

Old Navy’s loyalty FAQ promises a birthday gift chosen at Gap Inc.’s discretion, with extra gifts for family members at higher tiers. Kohl’s Rewards lists “a special birthday gift” for your birthday month if you add your birthday and make any purchase before that month; it doesn’t say what the gift is.

What these rewards are worth (our math)

  • Boot Barn: $15 off $60 is 25%; on $150 it is 10%. Fixed-dollar rewards favor modest purchases.
  • Journeys: 10% off an $80 pair is $8; 20% is $16.
  • Aerie: $5 off $25 is 20%; on $100 it is 5%.
  • Dunkin’: triple points on a $10 order earns 30 points instead of 10.
  • Sephora online: the gift costs you a $25 order, so it’s only free if you were buying anyway. In store it’s free outright.

How to save without a coupon

  1. Join weeks ahead. The longest lead time we found was Old Navy’s seven business days before the birthday month.
  2. Save your birthday and opt in to email. Ulta and Jersey Mike’s require marketing opt-in.
  3. Make the qualifying purchase early at Starbucks, Jersey Mike’s, Papa Johns and Kohl’s.
  4. Calendar the windows. Panera’s seven days and Starbucks Green’s single day go fast.
  5. Use no-purchase rewards in store. Sephora in store skips the $25 minimum.
  6. Stack only where allowed. Bath & Body Works lets Rewards combine; Panera and Papa Johns don’t combine birthday rewards with other offers. Our stacking guide covers the general rules, and the restaurant rewards ranking compares programs year-round.

What we could not verify

  • Denny’s: its FAQ mentions birthday and anniversary rewards; the Rewards page and terms give no details.
  • Krispy Kreme: lists “a sweet birthday gift,” but the FAQ answers did not load.
  • Sonic: promises “a special birthday bonus” without saying what it is.
  • Arby’s and Buffalo Wild Wings: no birthday reward on the FAQ or terms pages we loaded; their rewards terms pages did not load.
  • Victoria’s Secret: the Rewards FAQ blocked access, so amount and tiers are unconfirmed.
  • Subway (US): only the Canadian page mentions a yearly birthday freebie; US pages did not load.
  • Michaels: no birthday reward on the Rewards page or terms.
  • Chipotle’s lead time; Panera’s bakery-treat price cap; Kohl’s and Old Navy gift values; Old Navy and Journeys redemption windows.
  • Any working promo code. No checkout test was performed.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need the app to get a birthday reward?

Not always. Starbucks accepts the app barcode or a registered card, Papa Johns requires an online order, and Aerie sends its coupon by email or text. Ulta needs an app or email code in store.

How far ahead do I have to sign up?

Starbucks says at least seven days before your birthday; Old Navy, seven business days before your birthday month. Ulta and Kohl’s say before your birthday month. Many others publish no number.

Does Red Robin still give a free birthday burger?

Its terms retired it, with final redemptions in birthday months beginning on or before 7/1/2026. A $7 Kids’ Birthday Offer remains for children 17 and under, dine-in only.

Can I get a birthday reward without buying anything?

Yes at some. Panera states no purchase is required, and Sephora needs none in store. Chili’s requires $5 of spending and Sephora online $25.

What if I add my birthday late?

Most programs skip that year. Bath & Body Works is worth checking: one help article says the reward issues the day you add your birthday.

Offer provenance

Sources: Starbucks Rewards Terms of Use; Panera MyPanera Program Terms; Chipotle Rewards page and terms; My Chili’s Rewards Terms; Olive Garden FAQs; Jersey Mike’s Shore Points Terms; Papa Johns Birthday Rewards FAQ; Dunkin’ FAQ and Rewards terms; Red Robin Royalty terms; Denny’s Rewards page and terms; Krispy Kreme Rewards page and FAQ; Sonic FAQ; Arby’s FAQ; Buffalo Wild Wings FAQ and terms of use; Subway Canada rewards page; Sephora Beauty Insider Terms and Birthday Gift page; Ulta Birthday Rewards page; Bath & Body Works Help Center; Boot Barn B.Rewarded Rules; Journeys All Access page and terms; AE Real Rewards Terms; Old Navy loyalty FAQ; Kohl’s Rewards page and terms; Michaels Rewards page and terms.

No checkout test was performed. No code on this page was invented, and nothing was sourced from coupon sites. Read how we verify deals and our editorial policy, or contact us if something here has changed.

Related: Restaurant rewards programs ranked · Texas Roadhouse VIP Club and birthday goodies · Denny’s rewards explained · Kohl’s Cash and Rewards · Old Navy rewards explained · How to stack coupons, cashback and rewards

Affiliate disclosure: CheezyDeals has no affiliate relationship with any company on this page and earns nothing if you shop there. See our affiliate disclosure.

All company and program names are trademarks of their respective owners. CheezyDeals is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by any of them, and uses the names only to identify the businesses these offers apply to.

More recently checked coupon & deal pages