Merchant: Choice Hotels (Comfort Inn, Quality Inn, Sleep Inn, Clarion, Cambria, Econo Lodge, Radisson brands in the Americas and more) · What this page covers: Choice Privileges, member rates, promo codes vs. special rates, sales, AAA, senior and military rates, and what points are worth · Sources: Choice Hotels’ own pages, listed under Offer provenance.
The Comfort Inn rewards program is Choice Privileges, the free loyalty program that covers Comfort Inn and every other Choice Hotels brand that participates, from Econo Lodge to Cambria and the Radisson hotels in the Americas. Joining gets you a member rate that Choice says is 2–7% off the hotel’s published rate when you book direct, up to 10 points per dollar on room charges, and reward nights that Choice says start at 6,000 points at some locations, with most at 8,000 or more. Choice does not publish public promo codes; its discounts (AAA, AARP, senior, military, government) are picked from a “special rate” menu when you search, and its sales are applied as rates, not typed codes.
Choice Hotels deals at a glance
| Offer | Code needed? | Status | Expiration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Choice Privileges member rate: 2–7% off the hotel’s published BAR, advance purchase or promotional rate | No, sign in as a member and book direct | merchant_direct | Ongoing | choicehotels.com Exclusive Rates page; program rules |
| Autumn Season Sale: save 15% on stays of 2+ nights beginning Sunday–Thursday | No code listed | merchant-listed · last seen active | Book by 11/16, stay 10/11–11/30 (Choice shows no year) | choicehotels.com Deals page and promotional offer page |
| AAA members: 15% off stays of 2+ nights | No, choose AAA in the special rate menu | merchant_direct | Stays November 1, 2026 – January 3, 2027 | choicehotels.com AAA page |
| AARP members: 15% off qualifying stays | No, choose AARP in the special rate menu | merchant_direct | Stays November 1, 2026 – January 3, 2027 | choicehotels.com AARP page |
| AAA rate: 10% off the Best Available Rate at participating hotels | No, choose AAA/CAA in the special rate menu | merchant_direct | Ongoing | choicehotels.com AAA page |
| AARP / senior rate: up to 10% off for AARP members or guests 60+, booked in advance | No, choose Senior/AARP in the special rate menu | merchant_direct | Ongoing | choicehotels.com Senior Rates, AARP and Hotel Discounts pages |
| AAA/CAA members: one-time upgrade to Gold Elite after one qualifying stay (status valid through 12/31/2027) | Enroll via Choice’s AAA page (code AAAUP26, U.S.) | merchant_direct | Qualifying stays March 15, 2026 – December 31, 2026 | choicehotels.com AAA page |
| AARP caregivers: 15% off | Not stated | merchant-listed · last seen active | Not stated | choicehotels.com Deals page |
| Advance purchase rate: starts at 15% off BAR, prepaid and non-refundable | No | merchant_direct | Ongoing | choicehotels.com Advance Purchase page |
| Military/veteran leisure rate (amount not stated) plus limited-time Gold Elite status | No, choose the military rate | merchant_direct | Gold offer described as limited-time; no end date stated | choicehotels.com Military Program and Government & Military Rates pages |
| Government/military (official travel) and state government rates | No, choose the rate in the special rate menu | merchant_direct | Ongoing | choicehotels.com Government & Military Rates page |
| Lowest Price Guarantee: Choice matches a lower public rate and sends a $50 reward card (U.S. residents) | No, claim form within 24 hours of booking | merchant_direct | Ongoing | choicehotels.com Best Rate rules |
| Return and Earn: 1,000 bonus points after the 2nd and again after the 3rd qualifying stay each calendar year | No | merchant_direct | Resets each calendar year | choicehotels.com Earn Points and Benefits pages |
| Buy Choice Privileges points: up to 40% off | No | expired | October 22, 2026 | choicehotels.com Deals page |
| Stay Longer & Save More: 15% off 2 nights, 20% off 3+ nights | No | expired | Stays by April 6, 2026 | choicehotels.com Stay Longer & Save More page |
Is there a Choice Hotels promo code?
Not in the usual sense. Choice’s discount pages tell you to pick a rate from the “special rate” drop-down on the search form (AAA/CAA, Senior/AARP, military and government options) rather than type a code. The Hotel Discounts page also shows a “Special rate ID” field, but Choice publishes no public code to put in it.
The only codes Choice publishes are for its AAA Gold upgrade (rate plans S3A/S3A1, enrollment code AAAUP26). We found no published SRD or SAAA rate codes, so we list none.
Two rules apply almost everywhere: discounts generally cannot be combined, and member rates, sales and points require booking direct.
How the Comfort Inn rewards program (Choice Privileges) works
Choice Privileges is free to join, and Choice says it covers more than 7,100 hotels. The rules from Choice’s program pages and Rules & Regulations:
- Earning: 10 points per whole U.S. dollar of room revenue on most brands. Taxes and incidentals do not earn.
- Extended-stay brands: at Everhome Suites, MainStay Suites and Suburban Studios, stays of 7 to 30 nights earn 5 points per dollar, and nights 31 and later earn nothing.
- WoodSpring Suites does not participate in Choice Privileges.
- Stays that earn nothing: third-party bookings such as Expedia, most travel agent bookings, group and package rooms, reward nights, and rates below $40 a night.
- Expiration: points expire after 18 consecutive months without qualifying activity (a stay, redemption or points purchase resets the clock). Elite members’ points do not expire while they hold status, and expired points can be reinstated for up to 180 days.
- Radisson: only Radisson hotels in the Americas and the Caribbean participate.
Elite tiers
Choice lists four Elite tiers, earned with Elite Qualifying Nights or Elite Qualifying Credits in a calendar year: Gold (5 nights or 10,000 credits), Platinum (15 or 30,000), Diamond (35 or 70,000) and Titanium (55 or 110,000). Benefits include bonus points, early check-in and late checkout where available, milestone rewards, and upgrades at participating Cambria, Ascend and certain Radisson hotels. Titanium adds an annual 50%-off reward night coupon.
Choice Privileges points: what a free night costs
Choice does not publish a fixed award chart. Its FAQ says reward nights start “as low as 6,000” points at some locations, and that “most locations start at 8,000 points or more,” varying by hotel and season. Reward nights can be booked up to 50 weeks before the end of the stay.
Points Plus Cash (U.S. members, website or app only) uses at least 6,000 points per night and is available on reward nights priced at 8,000 points or more. The cash portion is non-refundable and the stay earns no points.
Example (our math): at 10 points per dollar, an 8,000-point reward night takes $800 of room spend to earn, before any Elite bonus or the 1,000-point Return and Earn bonuses. If the same room would cost $120 in cash, each point is worth about 1.5 cents on that night ($120 ÷ 8,000). On a $70 room, they are worth under 0.9 cents each.
Member rate vs. sales vs. advance purchase
The member rate is the easiest saving: 2–7% off, requiring only that you are a member before booking and book direct. It does not combine with other promotions or apply to existing reservations.
The advance purchase rate starts at 15% off the Best Available Rate but is charged within 24–48 hours of booking and is “non-cancellable, non-changeable and non-refundable.” It must be booked 7 to 30 days ahead, depending on the hotel.
The Autumn Season Sale on the Deals page offers 15% off 2+ night stays that begin Sunday through Thursday, booked by 11/16 for stays 10/11–11/30. Check its cancellation rules before booking.
Example (our math): two weeknights at a placeholder $120 a night is $240 before tax. The member rate saves $4.80 to $16.80. A 15% sale rate saves $36, but because discounts do not stack, you get one or the other. Either way, a direct booking earns about 2,000 points on the roughly $204 you pay after the 15% discount, which a third-party booking would not.
AAA, AARP and the Choice Hotels senior rate
- AAA: 10% off the Best Available Rate at participating hotels. Choose AAA/CAA when booking or call (800) 228-5050, and show your AAA card at check-in. For stays November 1, 2026 to January 3, 2027, Choice advertises 15% off 2+ night stays for AAA members.
- AARP: 10% off the Best Available Rate, with proof of membership at check-in. For stays November 1, 2026 to January 3, 2027, AARP members get 15% off qualifying stays.
- Senior rate: guests 60 or older (or AARP members) can save up to 10% when they reserve in advance. Choose Senior/AARP or call 800-424-6423 and ask for the Senior Rate.
AAA/CAA members without Elite status can also enroll to earn Gold Elite after one qualifying stay through December 31, 2026. Compare other programs on our senior discounts master list.
Choice Hotels military discount and government rates
Choice lists three rates:
- Military/Veterans (Leisure): for active duty, veterans, their dependents and members of certain military-oriented associations on personal trips. It requires Choice Privileges membership. Choice’s current pages do not state the discount amount.
- Government/Military (non-leisure): for official government business by federal employees and military personnel.
- State Government (non-leisure): for city, county or state employees on official business, with government ID, at a Choice hotel in the state where they work.
An eligible guest must occupy the room, and these rates earn points. Choice’s Military Program page also offers limited-time Gold Elite status to active-duty members, veterans and military spouses who update their military status in their account. See our military discounts master list for other travel brands.
The Choice Privileges Mastercard, factually
Choice’s Deals page says the Choice Privileges Mastercard earns up to 16x total points at participating properties, 3x on select everyday categories and 1x elsewhere, with Gold Elite status after 10 Elite Qualifying Nights. We did not find the card’s fee terms on choicehotels.com. CheezyDeals earns nothing from any card application.
How to save at Choice Hotels without a coupon
- Join Choice Privileges before you book and sign in; the member rate and points require it.
- Book direct. Third-party bookings earn no points, and our Priceline guide covers what else you give up.
- Check every special rate you qualify for (AAA, Senior/AARP, military) against the member rate and any sale; only one applies.
- Prepay only when plans are firm.
- Claim the Lowest Price Guarantee within 24 hours of booking.
Planning a family trip instead? Compare resort pricing in our Great Wolf Lodge and Kalahari guides.
What we could not verify
- The year and full terms of the Autumn Season Sale; Choice shows no year, and its terms link did not load.
- The current military leisure discount. An older Choice newsroom release said “up to 12%” and Lifetime Gold for service members; Choice’s current pages state no percentage and describe Gold as limited-time.
- Which Elite tier earns which bonus. Choice lists 10%, 25%, 50% and 50% without labeling tiers.
- The lowest reward night price: the FAQ says 6,000 points at some locations; the program page says reward nights start at 8,000.
- The advance purchase lead time: one section says 3 days, the fine print says 7, 14, 21 or 30.
- Terms for the AARP caregiver offer, and the Avis/Budget offer (one Choice page says up to 35% off and 2,000 points on 3+ day rentals, another 3,000 points for 4+ days).
- The Choice Privileges Mastercard’s issuer, annual fee and full earning terms.
FAQ
What is the Comfort Inn rewards program called?
Choice Privileges. Comfort Inn is a Choice Hotels brand, and stays there earn Choice Privileges points.
Does Choice Hotels have a military discount?
Yes. Choice lists a Military/Veterans leisure rate for active duty, veterans and dependents, plus government rates for official travel. Its current pages do not state the percentage.
How many Choice Privileges points do I need for a free night?
Choice says reward nights start as low as 6,000 points at some locations, with most at 8,000 or more.
Do Choice Privileges points expire?
After 18 consecutive months with no qualifying activity, unless you hold Elite status.
Offer provenance
- Choice Hotels Deals page
- Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15% (Autumn Season Sale)
- Hotel Discounts & Travel Discounts
- Choice Privileges Exclusive (member) Rates
- Advance Purchase Rate
- Stay Longer & Save More (expired)
- AAA Hotel Discounts
- AARP Discounts
- Senior Rates
- Government and Military Rates
- Choice Privileges Military Program
- Choice newsroom: military leisure benefit (older release)
- Lowest Price Guarantee rules
- Choice Privileges program page
- Choice Privileges new rewards and Elite tiers
- Earn Points
- Membership Benefits
- Choice Privileges FAQs
- Choice Privileges Rules & Regulations
- Choice investor news: new rewards experience
No checkout test was performed. No code on this page was invented, and nothing was sourced from coupon sites. Read how we verify deals and our editorial policy. If something here has changed, please tell us through our contact page.
Related: Priceline coupon codes · Military discounts master list · Senior discounts master list · Great Wolf Lodge deals · Kalahari deals · Enterprise rental car discounts
Affiliate disclosure: CheezyDeals has no affiliate relationship with Choice Hotels and earns nothing if you buy there. See our affiliate disclosure.
Choice Hotels, Choice Privileges, Comfort Inn and the other brand and program names are trademarks of their owners. CheezyDeals is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Choice Hotels, and uses these names only to identify the business these offers apply to.